Wild Animals/Exotics

Printer-friendly version

The animals listed below are examples of the exotic species regulated under Georgia Law. The Department should be consulted before any exotic animals which are not normally domesticated in Georgia are acquired. Hybrids or crosses between any combination of domestic animals, wildlife, or regulated wild animals and all subsequent generations are regulated in Georgia and may not be held without a license. The exotic species listed below, except where otherwise noted, may not be held as pets in Georgia. This list is not all inclusive.

  • Marsupials (wallabies, kangaroos, sugar gliders, etc.); all species

Note: Sugar gliders are legal as pets if the owner possesses valid documentation that the animal originated from a source inspected and regulated by the United States Department of Agriculture.

  • Insectivores (shrews, moles, hedgehogs, tenrecs, etc.); all species
  • Flying lemurs; all species
  • Bats; all species
  • Primates (monkeys, apes, etc.); all species
  • Sloths, armadillos, etc.; all species
  • Pangolins or scaly anteaters; all species
  • Rabbits and hares; all species except those normally domesticated
  • Rodents (capybaras, cavies, prairie dogs, degus, etc.); all species except those normally domesticated in Georgia such as hamsters, gerbils, and guinea pigs
  • Whales, dolphins, etc.; all species
  • Carnivores (weasels, ferrets, foxes, cats, bears, wolves, etc.); all species.

Note: European ferrets are legal as pets if neutered by 7 months old and vaccinated against rabies. Wolf hybrids are not a legal pet in Georgia. Most exotic cat hybrids, such as a savannah cat, are not a legal pet in Georgia.

  • Aardvark; all species
  • Elephants; all species
  • Conies; all species
  • Manatee, dugong; all species
  • Ungulates (hoof stock); all species except American bison, water buffalos, and llamas
  • Rhinoceros
  • Wart hog
  • Hippopotamus
  • Hawks, eagles, vultures, etc.; all species
  • Turkeys; all species except those normally domesticated
  • Cuckoos; all species
  • Owls; all species
  • Sky larks
  • Bulbuls; all species
  • Thrushes; all species of genus Turdus
  • White eyes; all species of genus Zosterops
  • Yellow hammers
  • Sparrows; all species of genus Passer except English sparrow
  • Cape weaver
  • Baya weaver
  • Queleas; all species
  • Blackbirds, grackles, etc.; all species of genera Molothrus, Quiscalus, Agelaius
  • Monk parakeet (a.k.a. Quaker parakeet)
  • Java sparrow (a.k.a. Java Rice Bird, Java Rice Finch)

Note: The Georgia Department of Agriculture has determined the Quaker or Monk Parakeet and the Java Rice Bird are prohibited from entry into the State of Georgia due to being capable of breeding in the wild and, if established in the wild, presenting a threat of being detrimental to the agriculture industry of this State.

  • Starlings, mynas, etc.; all species except European starling and Hill mynas
  • Crows, ravens, etc.; all species
  • Crocodiles, gavials, etc.; all species
  • Alligators and caimans; all species
  • Cobras, coral snakes, etc.; all species
  • Adders, vipers, etc.; all species
  • Pit vipers; all species
  • Venomous colubrid snakes; all species
  • Gila monsters and beaded lizards; all species
  • Giant and Marine toads
  • Banded tetra
  • Piranha; all species
  • Grass, Silver and Bighead carp
  • Air-breathing catfishes; all species
  • Parasitic catfishes; all species
  • Giant walking catfishes; all species
  • Snakeheads; all species of genera Ophicephalus and Channa
  • Fresh-water stingray; all species